The Remake of The Bootleg.

 

***You will be needing audio for this.***

Songs are remade all the time. Some songs beg to be remade while others should never be touched in any form again. The latter is due to a song being damn good or flat out horrible. For example Stevie Wonder’s work will always be the subject of reimagining while Al. B. Sure’s catalogue should be destroyed.

I caught a preview of HBO’s In Treatment, which deals with a psychiatrist who sees various patients throughout the week but ends up going to see his own shrink when all of the madness stops. During the commercial a woman’s husky voice is singing “Crazy” which was made famous by Gnarls Barkley. I thought to myself, “Self that’s sounds like a very interesting take on “Crazy”.” So I checked the Internet to see who sang this version of the song and I was lead to a Brit named Alice Russell. Russell has also remade The White Stripes’ “Seven Nation Army”.

Neither version is great but they are far from horrible. I will say that I do like this version of “Crazy” a lot. I’ve added them both so check them out.

Crazy–Alice Russell

Seven Nation Army–Alice Russell

If you tell me what are some of your favorite remakes and I’ll tell you mine. What songs would you like to get remade and by whom?

Vaya con Dios.

20 responses to “The Remake of The Bootleg.

  1. I peeped that version on Sunday after Boardwalk Empire went off. I really like it too.

    One of my favorite remakes is Killing Me Softly by The Fugees. I went thru an all Jodeci everything kinda evening a couple of days ago and was jammin to “Lately”–a very good cover as well (since you mentioned Stevie)

    I wrote about a few more of my faves here: http://musicmakesmehigh.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/betcha-cant-do-it-like-me/

    • Thanks for reading Reecie.

      Killing Me Softly has to go down as one of the best remakes ever. If not the best, one of the more well-known ones.

      It’s weird that when “Lately” came out I didn’t know that was a remake until I saw them perform it on Arsenio. (At least I think that was Arsenio. *Waving long Arsenio finger.*

  2. Princess Jasmen

    Cruisin – D’Angelo
    You’re all I need to get by- MJB and Method Man
    This too come to mind Immediately

  3. Princess Jasmen

    Wu, Where can I find that ? A remake of his royal badness..I must hear this. Oh yeah have you heard the Lela James version of ” A Change is Gonna Come”? It’s a different sound ,she has one of those packa newport singing voices very husky.

  4. I like the remake of “Time” by Musiq Soulchild. it was on his Juslisen album.

    He did a nice job with it.
    Great blog topic BTW.

  5. I need get back to my Who Killed it Tuesdays? I’d compare covers of various songs.

    Anywho, K-Ci and JoJo OWNED “lately”…sorry Stevie fans. I also like “if this world were mine” by Luther Vandross and Cheryl Lynn (original by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell).

    I’d like to see “fire and desire” by Rick James and Teena Marie re-made by Monica…and I can’t think of a guy who would do the song justice…maybe Kellz?

  6. Okay…shoot me for this. I thought that Destiny’s Child remake of The BeeGee’s ‘Emotions’ wasn’t bad.

  7. Oh.. ‘Forever, For Always, For Love’ , the Layla Hathaway take on Lutha’s song.

Leave a Reply

