Songs about girls.

I’m suffering from writer block neglect so I thought I’d put something different into the universe today. I’ve decided to utilize some of the GB’s of storage space that I have on my Word Press platform and I’ve put together a little playlist. As you can see from the title the play list contains songs about girls. The subject matter of each song runs the gamut of women—there are songs about loving girls, leaving girls, bad girls, and good ones. Just like women in the songs run the gamut of music genres. Be prepared to hear indie-rock, hip hop, r & b, and old school New Orleans jump blues. Please know that I’m new to writing about music with actual audio links so bare with my experiment. (Click on each link and it should begin to play.)  If you want to read blogs about music done a helluva a lot better than this one check out fellow bloggers LaBakir and Reecie, they both get it done.

Unfortunately my plat form doesn’t support wma files so a few of my favorites like OutKast’s “SpottieOttieDoapliscious”, Paul Simon’s “50 Ways to Leave Your Lover”, Anthony Hamilton’s “Charlene” and “I’m a Mess”, Damien Rice’s “The Blower’s Daughter”, and Stevie Wonder’s “As” were left out. (By the way, Dale I omitted Oran Juice Jones’ “The Rain” on purpose. I just didn’t feel like going Rambo and flat-blasting a Hush Puppy wearing crumb cake this morning.)

If this goes well I may do this ever so often if not I’ll forget it ever happened like when I watch Tyler Perry movies. Let me know what your favorite songs about the opposite sex are so we can share.

Al Green – Back up Train

The Right Reverend Al Green has a ton of songs about women but  to me this is Reverend Green at his best. To me it sounds completely different from the rest of his catalogue. It’s more stripped down and has more of a 1960’s southern feel to it. (Well more so than his other works.) He’s leaving and he’s realized that he should have asked her to come with.

N.E.R.D – She Wants to Move

“She Wants to Move” is a complicated song about a simple subject – Pharrell and company mix a combo of reckless eyeballing and handcuffing to create a dope-a** song about an obviously spoken for dope-a** girl in the club.

Paolo Nutini – Jenny Don’t Be Hasty

I don’t even remember how I came across this song but I like it. Nutini’s relationship with a cougar is going south fast because of his age and he’s kind of broken up about it. Paolo’s mournful lyric “You said you’d marry me/if I were 23/but I’m only 18” sums his situation with Jenny. (There’s been a lot of songs about girls named “Jenny” hasn’t there?)

One Eskimo – Kandi

I have to thank Vh-1 for helping me find this song. One morning while watching “Jump Start” and enjoying a bomb-a** cup of Community Coffee, the video for this came on. One Eskimo uses a sample from Candi Staton’s “He Called Me Baby” to tell a tale of a man whose woman is seeing another man. (Hope that makes sense.) Jody’s got your girl and gone.

Smiley Lewis – I Hear You Knocking

Many men have done songs about girls they want to come back to them. New Orleans blues legend Smiley Lewis did a song about a woman that he wishes would have just stayed away. Call the cops to stop her from knocking Smiley.

Chester French – She Loves Everybody

I came across this one when I saw the two members of Chester French getting beat down by an angry little woman in the video for the Neptunes produced “She Loves Everybody”.  It’s about a girl with issues… lots and lots of issues.

Wale ft. Gucci Mane – Pretty Girls

At first glance a song with Wale ft Old black lips b/k/a Guccie Mane may sound like king of a mess but I was suprised by the result of the pairing. Wale and Gucci use a Go-Go infused tract to pontificate on “Pretty Girls” and why they like them.

The Rolling Stones – Miss You

Every man has been there. You did something to her and she threw up the deuces or things just fell apart. The fact is most of the time you’re going to miss your good thing after it’s gone. Mick and the lads in the Stones tell you how it is on this blue-eyed soul/rock classic. I guess they did learn a thing or two while hanging out at Chess Records.

Robin Thicke – Dreamworld

This entire song isn’t about a girl but only a few parts of it. Robin sings about everything from loving his woman to wishing the rest of the world could get over themselves and just deal with their interracial marriage. He’s knows the world ain’t perfect but a man can dream about it can’t he?

Raphel Saadiq – Still Ray

Tuba + Piano + 808 kick drum = An underrated love song “I’m coming home to you/wear something see-through (so I can see your heart)/for night can never come soon enough for me (I watch the sky all day)” Just like Al Green in the first entry Raphael Saadiq (Who doesn’t seem to age. What is he like 45?) wants to get back to his woman as fast as possible. If he could move time he could but he has to wait it out like the rest of us.

Prince – She’s Always in My Hair

Prince Rogers Nelson has done a lot of songs about girls but I personally think this one is the best. It’s also my favorite Prince track. Simply put it’s a great song about a great woman. She has his back, he knows it, and loves her for it.

The Black Keys – Next Girl

If “She’s Always in My Hair” is a “great song about a great woman” then The Black Key’s “Next Girl” is a great song about a horrible woman. When you’re in a relationship with a poisonous person some of the vemon stays with for a time. (Hell, Mary J has made a career of a sh**y relationship.) One thing  I know for sure a bad woman will make you appreciate a good one.

Miguel ft J. Cole – All I Want is You

This a relatively new song . Somber yet upbeat, Miquel and J. Cole spend the whole track apologizing for screwing up and over her. Will she listen?

Jet – Are You Gonna Be My Girl

I always liked thought this was a damned-good song. Similar to “She Wants to Move” it’s about a guy seeing a spoken for gitl and wanting her her. Unlike Pharrell who let the girl’s guy know that “She Wants to Move” the lead singer of Jet flat out asks the object of his lust and affections “Are You Gonna Be My Girl?”

John Holt – The Tide is High

“I’m not the kind of guy who gives up just like that ” Debbie Harry and Blondie made this song famous but John Holt is responsible for the original version. This must have been one hell of a woman if he’s willing to wait on her while she’s with other guys. Better man than me Mr. Holt.

Listen and enjoy.

Vaya con Dios.

14 responses to “Songs about girls.

  1. Good post. I learned about a few new songs on this list as well.

  2. I’m not stalking you, I promise.

    Good list, interested in hearing the songs. 🙂

  3. I like your choices but I’m like Crystal, some were new to me. Oh yeah, thanks for the Oran Juice Jones comment. I needed a good laugh. Classic!

    • You can’t go wrong with Oran Juice Jones. That song is hilarious. “Everything you came with is in that suitcase.” A lot of these songs I found by watching vids or flipping through the radio dial.

  4. Thanks for the shout out!

    Great song selection. I sitll have to get through all of them. Absolutely adore that Raphael joint

  5. hey great post! I am jamming right now. thanks for providing a mid day soundtrack, and I appreciate the shoutout too 🙂

  6. I don’t even listen to the original Pretty Girls anymore, only the remix with Chris Brown & Fabolous. plus I hate Gucci Mane. lol

  7. Aside from “Are you gonna be my girl” I don’t know any of the songs you mentioned.. my computer not having speakers does NOT help the situation. I’d be much further along..
    The only woman-song I can think about right now is Colorful- Rocco Deluca and the Burden..
    I LOVE that song.. I’ll be back with more additions later.. (i’m sure)

  8. Pingback: I’m Burnin’ Up: My Favorite Torch Songs | Up Here on Cloud 9

Leave a Reply

