The Third Decade

*I was going to title this post “My third decade of dominance” but that just sounded a little too douchey for my liking. Things like that are a gateway for other douchey behavior like calling myself awesome, bragging about owning t-shirts, and wearing sunglasses inside of clubs. Unless your name is Barney Stinson, just don’t do this sh*t.  Steve Young’s baby boy is better than that.*

Today is my  31st birthday which means that I’ve been into my third decade for 365 days and however many bullsh*t hours that your grade school science teachers used to tell you constituted a year and I feel fine (No Michael Stipe.) I’ve got nothing to complain about. I’m secure in who and what I am. I’m finally focusing on what I want to do with my life.

Not to say my journey has been easy because it hasn’t. Hell, it isn’t even over, but I’m just here to tell you that things at 31 aren’t as bad as many people of my age would have you believe they are. You know why? You’re only going to get older so throwing yourself a pity party every year on your birthday only ruins a day that you should be thankful for. (Unless you’re Richard Alpert. Then you’re just finding any way possible to ending it all.) So I’ve thrown together a few tips for those in or entering their third decade.

  1. Like Lyfe Jennings said “Thirty is still the same old thirty.” Deal with it Hoss. Keep on working hard at what you love, keep loving who you love, and remember that you’re a full-fledged adult now.
  2. Rely your friends for support and help. </s
Leave a Reply

